Bethany Dillon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I heart Italian food February 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bethanydillon @ 3:44 pm
Tags: , ,

TGIF, y’all! : )

Actually, today begins a not-so-weekend-ish weekend for me… although I am taking this year easy because of our little love nugget Lucy coming in a few months, I am doing some singing this weekend. I fly out this afternoon to Orlando– tomorrow afternoon  I am singing at a women’s conference in Kissimmee, FL, (not sure if it’s an open event??) and then tomorrow night doing a show in Tallahassee at Holy Cross Church @ 7p (all in the area are welcome! Come out and say hi!) … and then Sunday morning I’m singing a couple songs at a church, and get home Sunday night. I’m excited to sing and get to hang out with my brother for sure, but I am also kind of sad to leave home. I guess I’m what you’d call a home-body. Yes. Yes, I was homeschooled. What?

Anyway… if any of you Floridians wanna come out this weekend and say howdy, that’d be mighty fine.

I wanted to share a little recipe with you this morning. Even though Spring is almost on its way, it’s still pretty chilly out, and let’s face it- winter or summer, rain or shine, comfort food is always in. What’s my comfort food of choice? Italian, hands down. I’ve kind of been joking with Shane that Lucy’s going to have an Italian accent or at least call me “Ma-ma Mia” because I loved Italian pre-pregnancy, but now? … that’s really all I want. It’s just… comfort food. And delicious. And wonderful. And easy to make. And carbs are always involved. So many pro’s, and instead of continuing on with them, I’m gonna share a quick red-sauce recipe I make whenever I’m making spaghetti, lasagna, or anything fancy Italian that requires it:

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F

Yields enough sauce for about 4 servings

(All of this kind of requires eye-balling it, depending on the amount you want to make. I’m just going to give you what I usually do, but you can add or subtract whatever you want! That’s the beauty of it!)

– 2 packages of cherry tomatoes and/or 4 hot-house tomatoes

– 1 red bell pepper, seeded and cut into three chunks (doesn’t need to look pretty)

– 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

– 4 cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed (I like to use a lot of garlic, sometimes I do more than four, but you can use less if you want)

– salt + pepper

– 1/4 cup grated fresh parmesan reggiano cheese

– 2 tbsp heavy cream (I use this for a richer sauce, but if I want it to be tomatoey and light, I usually don’t add it)

– 4 tbsp chopped fresh basil (I LOVE basil, so sometimes I add more than this even, but you can add as much/little as you want)

1) Drop your tomatoes and red pepper in a glass baking dish. ( **For a dinner for Shane & I plus a couple more people, I usually use a 4.5″ x 8.5″ dish, but if the amount you’re using won’t all fit, it’s not a big deal at all- just find something deep that will hold it all!) Smash the cloves of garlic, peel, and scatter them around the tomatoes and pepper. Drizzle the 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil evenly over the vegetables. Salt and pepper to taste.

2) Put the dish in the pre-heated oven for roughly 35 minutes, or until the tomatoes burst and the peppers and garlic are well roasted.

3) Pour contents of the baking dish in a heavy-duty blender or food processor along with the parmesan cheese and heavy cream, if so desired. Puree until desired consistency.

4) Add fresh basil at the end and lightly process until just combined.

That’s IT! … it is so, so, SO delicious and easy. When I have a few extra minutes I always skip using a store-bought tomato sauce and whip this up really quick. It tastes fresh and gourmet, and not only health-foodies love it, but it’s really only dirtying up a baking dish and a blender/food processor. Awesome, huh?

Let me know how you like it! Have a lovely weekend, guys!

Beth

 

26 Responses to “I heart Italian food”

  1. kktoday Says:

    Oh, Beth… now I want Italian. lol Sounds good! I’ll have to try this sometime. Have a wonderful Florida weekend. Hope it all goes well. 🙂

  2. Christopher Says:

    This looks great.

    With the 8-15″ of snow predicted for Cleveland today and the 20 something degree weather. I think I may make some tonight.

  3. Lindsay Says:

    Beth! This is awesome! I’m going to make it asap…all my favorite ingredients in one place. YUM!

    Have a great time in Florida, wish I could come see you play but I’ll be freezing my italian booty off in Indiana.

    Blessings!

  4. Margie Says:

    That recipe sounds delicious and wholesome. It’s something you can make on Sunday, pour in canning jars and serve it up during the week! Thanks again for sharing! I may try it next week.

    Have a great day!!

  5. ae Says:

    sounds yummy! i am going to have to try this recipe soon!

  6. Kari Says:

    That sounds good! I would try it if my family of 6 wasn’t so large! Plus, my dad and sister cook all the time, so I can’t make my way in the kitchen! LOL

    I live in Florida, but more like around West Palm… one day I hope to meet you, but obviously it won’t be happening soon. One year I went to Night of Joy (I think like 2005) but I didn’t make it to your concert! (ugh!)

    By the way, CONGRATS on the baby! That is sooo exciting! Can’t believe that I am around your age and you are married and expecting! 🙂

  7. Toni J Says:

    I think everyone that reads your blog will be benefiting from your pregnancy 🙂 So glad that God is so smart and is blessing everyone through this! hehe, just kidding, but on a serious note, congratulations!

    So, Paula Dean Jr., I have a recipe question… My husband and I have a garden and we juice and then freeze tomatoes. Do you think that if we thaw out our jar of tomato juice and do this, that it will work out the same? If you don’t know, that’s cool… I will try it anyway, and let ya know! I’ve been trying to find a “good” red sauce recipe actually since we got married a year and a half ago with fresh tomatoes! So I’m super excited to try this. Thanks Beth for being so wonderful and sharing with all of us; not only recipes, but your heart. Have a safe flight out to Florida! My husband, Aaron, and I are youth leaders and open our house every Friday night for all the kids to come over and hang out for pizza, games, etc. If it wasn’t for that, I’d be finding a flight to Florida!

  8. Catherine Says:

    Mmmmm… delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

    And I’d LOVE to hear more about your homeschooling experience. We are just about to begin that journey with our little ones. I’m excited but nervous too!!

    Thanks 🙂
    Catherine

  9. Lainee Says:

    Wow! This sounds soooo good! I will definitely have to try it. I’m always on the lookout for new recipes to try! Thanks for sharing! Have a good weekend!

    🙂

  10. Chelsea Mahaney Says:

    Oh geeeeeeez. Now I’m hungry! Thanks Beth!

  11. Caroline Says:

    This sounds AMAZING. Like really. I want to make it tonight! Thanks for the recipe!

  12. liz Says:

    this sounds SO good. i share your love for Basil! yum! i’m going to have to try this.
    hope you guys are doing well. excited for the baby coming soon!

  13. Henry Says:

    Beth – so glad you’re swinging through FL. I’m going to be at the Tallahassee show tonight. The venue is only 5 minutes from me and my wife’s home.

    I totally get the homebody feeling. I hate having to travel on business and leave the confines of home and my wife. She actually graduated from Florida Christian College – where I think you’re doing the show earlier in the day.

    Please, please please, play “So Close.” There are a select few that I keep on repeat on the new album on my MP3 player, but for some reason, “So Close” has been getting the most playing time. But you know what, you do your thang on stage and pretty much any song you play, me and my wife will dig big time. So glad we’re finally getting to see you live! Safe travels to you, Lucy, and your entourage…

  14. Betsy Says:

    Excited to try this!

  15. Larissa Says:

    Sounds yummy. I have to begin trying to make my own sauce. Wish I could see you perform in Florida.

  16. sarah Says:

    hey girl.. glad you started blogging again. i missed hearing your words of wisdom, especially those that come through songwriting. anyway, i’m looking forward to reading more! have a good one.

    sarah

  17. alinna. Says:

    i can’t wait to make the sauce! and also to see little lucy.. and pictures of prego you. i know i don’t know you, but i feel like i do. 🙂

  18. jolie Says:

    Thanks for this awesome recipe. Do you have a food processor? I didn’t register for one when I got married, and now I really wish that I would. I tried to puree some cauliflower for a recipe in my blender, and it was hard work. I think I need to go get a processor!

    God has really been speaking to me about my love at my job, and it was funny how well timed your last post was. Thanks for posting it, it encouraged me to keep contemplating my own love complex.

    http://becomingjolie.wordpress.com/2010/02/28/the-way-he-works/

  19. ahhh yum!! this recipe is awesome 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing beth.

  20. Court Says:

    Hey Beth, could you please post a video or something on how to play All I Need on guitar? I want to play it at my church soon, and I just love that song.
    Thanks,
    Court

  21. Lindsay Says:

    I am making this for dinner tonight! Thanks for posting. It is smelling so delicious! You are awesome.

  22. Kristin Says:

    This recipe is definitely on the top of my “Make Over Spring Break” list!

    On the slim chance you haven’t heard of the Pioneer Woman… you should check her out. thepioneerwoman.com
    Good recipes interspersed with with witty humor. Good stuff. 🙂

    Glad you’re blogging again!

  23. Addie Says:

    Wait a minute here… are you pregnant?! If so, YAY!!! Congrats to you and Shane. When are you due? I am officially requesting a post about that. 🙂

  24. emily Says:

    Such is the homeschool curse..I find myself explaining many things with…”Yes, I was homeschooled”

    Love the Blog..

  25. Amanda Says:

    That sounds delicious, I’ve never thought of roasting the tomatoes before putting them into a sauce, does this improve the flavour?
    Amanda

  26. ange Says:

    wow wow wow!!!
    so happy to FINALLY have a tomato sauce recipe!!! super happy about this…
    and love the blog fellowshipping-ness…thanks for sharing your life with Jesus with us!
    blessings from the southern end of africa,
    a


Leave a Reply

