Bethany Dillon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ahh, the Pacific. March 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bethanydillon @ 2:39 am
Tags: , ,

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve blogged. I have to face (and confess) it at some point – I am not a very consistent person, as a rule. I know I’m given to spurts of blogginess, but really, it shouldn’t surprise me when a month has gone by and I haven’t blogged a peep. My journals are that way… I have stacks of them in my memory box, but each journal holds about two years in sporatic entries. 🙂 Do you relate? … or are you one of those consistent/disciplined/organized people? If so, kudos to you. I can’t relate to you, but kudos. 😉

Anyway… I wanted to share some fun pics with y’all! Shane and I are on our very first vacation/our 2nd anniversary trip. We both played in Artesia, CA, this past Friday night and then Saturday morning woke up, drove 8 hours up the coast, and ended up in a beautiful little town about two hours north of  San Francisco. The drive HERE alone was gorgeous– mountains, ocean, rocks, farms, massive trees lining Hwy 1. (We put Hillsong’s “I Will Exalt You” on repeat for about 45 minutes of that drive. Just seemed to fit.) We have five days to totally unplug (we don’t get cell service here, which is a blessing that we at times have felt like is a curse!), enjoy each other’s company, seek the Lord, and … eat fish caught out of the ocean.

Oh yes.

We bought poles at Wal-Mart yesterday on a pit stop, and Shane found a bait and tackle store yesterday to get all the goodies he needed… and this afternoon, with pole, squid-bait (SO smelly, I wanted to gag. Oh wait, I DID gag — and was a complete drama queen about it — which has no effect on Shane now, since I’m dramatic about everything!), and camera in hand… we walked down the road to an amazing cove, Shane climbed some very dangerous rocks (and I’m NOT being dramatic about that!), and in about five minutes, he’d caught a gorgeous Pacific rockfish!!

We hurried back, I drove to the grocery and bought some potatoes/butter (you can’t have fish without those main ingredients, right?), and Shane did the job of gutting and cleaning the fish… we just finished dinner, and let me tell you, there is NOTHING like eating a fish that had been in the ocean just an hour before! When Shane pulled it off the grill, it was falling apart! Sooo good. And so healthy… minus the butter. 🙂

So, I thought I’d post some pictures of our adventure and brag on my husband’s fisherman skills!

Got a bite!

Just catching dinner, no big deal ...

As Rachael Ray would say, "El-yummo."

A close up

 

14 Responses to “Ahh, the Pacific.”

  1. Bianca Says:

    Holy Mackerel that looks AMAZING. I’ve never eaten just-caught-an-hour-ago fish…but now I’m totally motivated to make it happen!

  2. Morgan Says:

    I don’t much care for fish but I have to say that I would probably like it super fresh like that! The cove looks beautiful! I love the Pacific Coast! Enjoy your vacation!

    Oh, and MORE preggo pics!! Please??

  3. Gina Says:

    I have to say, I am jealous of your getaway. lol I love California, and would love a peaceful, romantic vacation. I hope you have tons of fun! That dinner looked delish!

  4. Luisa Says:

    Hi Beth! I’m so glad you’re having fun! You really have to enjoy all this time that you have as 2 right now! Once baby comes it’s so hard to get some quiet time for the two of you, and although you can always leave the baby with someone and have a date night, your heart will just be there with your baby! Don’t get me wrong…. MY HUSBAND AND I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE our baby and family days are just all that much more fun with him, but sometimes – not gonna lie- I kinda miss those days where it was just the 2 of us doing whatever, where ever, when ever! Every time I see or read things about you and Shane I think so much of me and my hubby… We actually met in one of your concerts down here in West Palm like 2 years ago and I told you how I thought we had so many things in common… and now even more so with a baby! (Our little man was born back in November) It’s been such a great blessing, he has brought my hubby and me sooo much more closely as we see each other taking care of him and loving on him! You and Shane are going to LOVE being parents! I also wanted to recommend you read this book called “On becoming BabyWise”, it’s a great book and sooooo extremely helpful for new parents! I read it and got my baby on this routine, which was great and helped him sleep through the night about 8 weeks after being born! THIS IS A HUGE DEAL for new parents! I know some gals who had their babies right around the same time that I did, and their babies are still NOT sleeping through the night! The book is a little extremist with some things, but that’s when you’ll step in as a loving mommy that knows what’s best for your baby!

    Anyway, I hope you read these comments!

    Be Blessed and enjoy this time to the fullest!!!! After Lucy comes, you’ll have a HUGE responsibility for the rest of your life! And a good one at that! =)

  5. TexLuthier Says:

    Completely awesome. My wife and I love that drive as well but I can’t say I’ve ever gotten out to fish!

    Be sure and visit Mier Woods if you haven’t yet.

  6. LB Says:

    there is something about getting away from EVERYTHING that just makes your soul sigh, no?
    not to mention the sweetness of spending extra hours with the hubs!

  7. Anna Says:

    “which has no effect on Shane now, since I’m dramatic about everything”… I’m sure my husband can relate! 😛

  8. Anna Says:

    …P.S. I’m just a fan and a random reader of your blog… found it through your sister’s, I believe. 🙂

  9. sarah Says:

    that looks amazing! delicious. and don’t apologize for your lack of blogging beth.. you’re a busy woman! hope everything’s good with little Lucy!

  10. mark sisco Says:

    Wow! So cool …really pretty rocky coast. Hey, in some places they eat squid. Try some cut shrimp, it doesnt stay on the hook as well, but will really widen your catch variety. Happy Anniversary. mark

  11. Samantha Says:

    I can totally relate to the unorganized, sporadic blogger/diary-er thing. I sometimes put pressure on myself to be different, but that is who I truly am. Don’t get me wrong, I love it when my house is clean, but I’m not very consistent to keep it clean. God is teaching me that He is the only One who is perfect, and I should stop trying to be perfect and just bask and delight in His perfection. Tough lesson.

    That fish looks sooo yummy. My family have always been fisherman, and fish is so much better fresh! Makes such a big difference. Happy Anniversary!

  12. Jessica Says:

    Beth,

    glad you enjoyed the food!! It looks goood!! Glad you and Shane are well. Hope that Baby Lucy is doing well tooo. when is she due? so excited to “meet” her when she gets her. How are you going to balance touring and being a mom?

    love,

    Jessica

  13. I just love you guys so much. That looked like a majestic experience. You gave me an idea for my husband Levar and I to do as we never go on vacation.

    Thanks for sharing, l love how you enjoy life and it makes me more eager to enjoy my own.

    BTW My favorite song today is “Get up and Walk” simple and profound. Speaks to the depths of my soul. :o) muah

    Laura J

  14. Kétrin Monteiro Says:

    Que prato bonito ..
    mas prefiro a feijoada aqui do Brasil !!!! hahahaha
    Come to Brasil Beth ! 😛


Leave a Reply

