Bethany Dillon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Aunt Deb’s Famous Brownies (i.e. you will never be the same) April 28, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — bethanydillon @ 4:16 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve been thinking about posting this recipe for a long time. This is no small matter, mind you. This is… this is… a treasured family recipe. MORE than that. These brownies will make you love life more. You’ll see your job differently, your spouse, your friends, your untidy house and crazy busy schedule. These brownies have the power to… take over the world.

Laugh all you want, but you true chocolate lovers out there will feel me on this in a half an hour when you’ve whipped these up and are sitting on the couch savoring them, sighing, and feeling closer to Jesus than you ever have before.

Ready for this?

Pre heat oven at 350 degrees F.

You will need:

2 3/4 sticks of butter (you feel the magic yet?) plus a little more for greasing the baking dish

3/4 cup cocoa powder (I like dark cocoa powder from Hershey’s)

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp butter and nut flavored vanilla (KEY INGREDIENT. I’ve only found it at Kroger… BELIEVE ME, these brownies will not taste the same without it!!! Normal vanilla’s okay, but this stuff might have as much magic as the butter)

1 1/2 cups flour plus a tablespoon more for the baking dish

  1. Melt butter in a medium saucepan on medium low heat – you do not want to get it boiling!
  2. Add cocoa powder and sugar. Mix well.
  3. Add eggs, beat. Then add butter and nut flavored vanilla and mix.
  4. Stir in flour, take off heat.
  5. Grease a 9″x13″ baking dish (I think glass works best) with a tablespoon of butter (I scoop it up with the corner of a paper towel and smear it – that way you can get the butter in the corners). Once the dish is completely greased, drop a couple of tablespoons of flour in the middle of the dish and move it/shake it/however you want to do it till a light coating of flour has stuck to the butter.
  6. Pour brownie mix in the dish. Bake 18-20 minutes, or until toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean. KEY: Do NOT overcook! If you’re afraid they’re getting a little too done but are still a bit gooey, don’t worry. It’s better to have them gooey than hard.
  7. Cool (if you can bear it) and then serve with a couple of scoops of vanilla ice cream!

** if you like walnuts in your brownies, when you have poured the brownie mix in the 9″x13″, just scatter some chopped walnuts on the top before putting in the oven.

Now that you’ve been welcomed into the circle of trust of Aunt Deb’s famous brownies, treasure this recipe. Guard it with your life. Take care of it. And eat lots of brownies. : )

 

14 Responses to “Aunt Deb’s Famous Brownies (i.e. you will never be the same)”

  1. Lainee Says:

    Beth. O my goodness gracious…. These look AMAZING! I simply have to try them. Too bad I’m just about to leave for a class or I would make them right now! Maybe tomorrow. : ) hope you have a lovely day!

  2. amy Says:

    ok, i seriously can’t wait to make these. gotta get that vanilla first! 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  3. Ashley Says:

    oh man, i do believe my life will never be the same again. my mouth is watering just from reading the recipe. this is going to be so good, it’s bad!

  4. Margaret Says:

    I just made them, and they are so good!! Best brownies I have ever had. Thanks for the recipe (: my life is ever changed. And you’re right, I feel closer to Jesus just eating them… (:

  5. Alysha Says:

    I was in the middle of making dinner when I found the recipe, and since I just happen to have everything-except that vanilla-I decided to try. Since I didn’t have that certain vanilla I used my amazing vanilla that came from the DR. They were pretty amazing but I will definitely be trying them again with the right vanilla!

  6. Bethany Says:

    I made these last night and Oh My Gravy they were sooo good!! 🙂 I didn’t have the vanilla, and I can’t wait to get it and make them again 😉 I was wondering, though…is it Butter/Nut flavored vanilla, or is it butter with nut flavored vanilla?

    Just wanted to say: Thank You Aunt Deb!! 😀

  7. Kelley Says:

    These sound delicious! I’m pretty sure posting chocolate recipes for other pregnant women to read is way to dangerous. I may just have to make the hubs stop by the store on the way home to get the correct vanilla for this recipe, although he may just laugh at me as I have 3 different kinds of vanilla in our pantry currently! So excited to try this out!

  8. Jenna Says:

    OMG- These are incredible. I was home sick today feeling pretty icky… I thought I word see if you posted anything on your blog, and boy, am I glad I did. I am feeling better already… I didn’t use the butter nut vanilla as I live in Canada and we don’t have Kroger… but the regular kind is still amazing. Seriously. I used up all the butter that was in my house, but it was definitely worth it.

  9. Becky Says:

    Like Jenna I’m also in Canada & couldn’t get my hands on that vanilla. However I made the brownies the other night for myself & my boyfriend. We topped them with Irresistible chocolate hazelnut spead ( store brand of Nutella) and marshmellos. Oh my goodness soooo good. I brought another one to work today and my coworkers oh’d and ah’d over the looks of them. Thanks Beth 🙂

  10. Tricia Says:

    I made these last night and they were oh so tasty but mushy no matter how long I left them in the oven. Any ideas on what I could’ve done wrong?! I set the oven on 350 but no matter how long we kept putting them back in, they were still mushy. Hmmm . . . I wanna figure this out since they DID taste good! (Taste is more important than looks, right?!) 🙂

  11. Beth!
    I made these brownies recently and LOVED THEM! You are right, they do bring you closer to Jesus!! Love ya!

  12. holly Says:

    i love your sense of humor. :o)

    “These brownies will make you love life more”

    “These brownies have the power to… take over the world.”

    and leave you “feeling closer to Jesus than you ever have before.”

    amen, sister

  13. sentimentsscribbles Says:

    Printed out this recipe and am DYING to try them…can’t wait until next week when I finally get the chance. I have been on a diligent hunt for the world’s best brownie recipe…here’s to hoping I found it!! Amen and amen. 🙂

  14. Michelle O Says:

    Bethany, here is simple ‘recipe’, try squeezing lemon on your watermelon!! Lime is my fave on it. See whatcha think! God bless you good – girl :)! Hugz, Michelle


Leave a Reply

