Bethany Dillon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Part 1: Twitter Answers, minus the 140-characters part. April 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bethanydillon @ 5:00 pm

WHOA! You guys asked a lot of good questions!

Since I am female, I don’t think I could limit any of my answers to y’all to 140 characters… so here you go : )

1) how did you and shane meet?! and how long did you two date before you knew he was “the one”?!  (@shayLaCS) how did you meet shane? And how did you know he was the one? (@misspicture)

Shane and I first met on my first tour with Shane & Shane, right when my first record had just come out. (Six years ago?) My awesome older sis Kate (check out her blog, you won’t be sorry! http://katemcdonald.wordpress.com) was out as my road manager then, and we had a BLAST on that tour! We became friends with everyone in the group, both Shanes, Shane Everett’s wife Kellie, the band, crew, everyone. It was the most laid back and kind of Texas-redneck tour ever, and we loved it. It didn’t take long for me to really be impressed with Shane B’s heart — on and off stage. Because of our age difference, I never really thought he would like me, but I always hoped to find someone LIKE him. Doesn’t the Lord have a sense of humor? : )

We started technically “dating” in the fall of 2006, and dated for ten months before getting engaged. When did I know that I wanted to be his wife? Uhh… way before we dated! I think it’s different for everyone, but because we’d been friends for a while, and the nature of touring is so up-close and personal (no way to hide your true character when you’re living on a tiny tour bus with people for months on end), I already knew he was the kind of person I wanted to marry. And then when we started dating, i.e., I knew he had feelings for me and I did for him, I was done. And so was he, I think! : ) God was really good and faithful in confirming that early on for the both of us, even though it’s maybe the biggest decision you’ll ever make.

2) What did you end up doing/eating on your last trip through Knoxville when you were looking for suggestions? 🙂 – @erbrew

Nothing! : ) We ended up driving to Louisville instead of Knoxville, and I think we had Cheesecake Factory that night. Not super exciting, but lots of carbs, so that was exciting.

3) when is Lucy due? 🙂 – @HillaryHolmes

July 6th! Roughly ten weeks to go!


4) fav mainstream/secular band or musician? – @atomcreative

I’d have to say I love, love, love Ella Fitzgerald. All big band era music, but her voice just ruins me. I also love motown music, so Aretha Franklin has been a favorite for a while. As far as current music goes, I am OBSESSED with Yael Naim’s record, we still listen to John Mayer’s “Continuum”, and, like the rest of the world, I love U2.


5) Are you naming Lucy after The Chronicles of Narnia series? I’m sure you are, but just checking:)  (@fantanna) Is your baby girl named after Lucy from Narnia? (@Piano250)

Well, we’re not really naming her AFTER the Narnia books, it’s just a bonus! : ) I’ve always loved the name Lucy, and yeah, when I think about a sweet, tender-hearted little girl, my mind does trail off to those stories… I’m praying for the same sincerity and nobility of heart in our little Lucy!

6) hey Bethany! I’ve always wondered if your song Dreamer was picked for the movie Dreamer, or if you wrote it for it? – @KROLMEiSTER

Kind of both. We were in the process of writing/recording my second record, Imagination, when we got a phone call about the opportunity. DreamWorks was just pitching the slot to a lot of different artists, sending out a manilla envelope with part of the script and a scene from the movie, and then the songwriters/artists would write something inspired from either or both of those things and send it in. Although we were in the thick of production, seriously, how often do you get an opportunity like that?!, so I went home on a break and started writing the melody and verses one night in my room. I really liked it, called my producer Ed Cash on the phone, put him on speakerphone and we wrote the song together. It ended up being 70% about Jesus and 30% about the movie, so I figured the chances of it being picked were slim…

And then we got the phone call! Pretty crazy! I had just already thought if it didn’t make it, it’d still be a fun song to put on the record, and then it ended up working for both the movie and Imagination!

7) What typically comes first: Melody, chords, or lyrics? What about Shane B? – @Jon_Olsen

Hmm. I’d say melody for me. When lyrics do happen, they usually happen really quickly, all in one chunk, and then I’ll go back and carve away at it and rework things. Shane … he’s kind of all over the place, but I think it’s more melody/chords for him. He’ll get really jazzed about a new key (he’s been loving the key of B lately) and then he’ll write music he really likes, and then he’ll sing nonsense words and figure out a melody, and then he’ll have nonsense words for two months. It’ll be the actual lyrics for a while, which bugs me. I’m too much of a perfectionist! Then, usually, he’ll get in there and work on lyrics.

8) wondering what its like working with Ed Cash – @jrichards79

So. Much. Fun.

He is a complete riot! And the people he surrounds himself with are so great… in musicianship and heart. His studio is built right off of his house, so it never feels like a “cool” studio … incense, low light, candles, thrift store pictures of old songwriters hung crooked on the walls. There’s nothing wrong with that vibe, it’s just that this country girl don’t like it. It makes me sleepy. At Ed’s, there’s always natural light, someone stopping by to say hello, his kids running in to grab a hug.

The best part, though, is that he really, really loves Jesus. It’s always been an honor to get to work with him!

9) Between you and Shane about how many guitars do you own? – @ToddFife

Oh, gosh. Well, as for me, I came into this marriage with three very cheap but playable guitars that I didn’t mind flying with. I just wasn’t that picky, AND I’m cheap. The one guitar I have, that really isn’t mine, is my dad’s old Guild. Beautiful looking and sounding. So, there’s four. And then Shane… Lord, Shane… I don’t think he even knows. It’s kind of like chapstick. You think you only have one tube in your purse and in the car, and then you open a certain drawer in your bathroom and ten tubes roll out. Let’s just say this — we have plenty!!

10) Have you written any new songs lately? Do you see yourself touring after you have Lucy? 🙂 – @lindsayboccardo

I have been writing! Mostly worship songs, actually. Not all corporate-friendly, but “worship” in the aspect of the purpose of it, the angle it’s being written from. Less singer-songwritery, more just sitting in our sun room and singing Scripture and lines from my prayer journal. I’m really, really excited about them. I have about 20 fragments of songs right now, only a few things finished.

After Lucy… who knows! We really have just decided to figure it out as we go. If she’s an easy baby and the guys aren’t going out for a month-long tour, we’ll probably set up the Pack-N-Play in the bus when she’s a bit older and go to be with Shane. But, you just never know. As for me touring, I’m figuring out more and more that I am fed by time at home. I think most people are, but there are the few artists who get antsy if they’re home too long. Not me. I get in a funk and a bit aimless when I’m on the road too long. I love being domestic, love our community, love consistency. So, no, I don’t foresee three month long tours happening and packing up Lucy along with me. It works for some families, but I don’t think the Barnards are wired like that. Shane and I both are praying about and figuring out a pace of being gone vs. home that feels closer to what the Lord has called us to. The older Lucy gets, I’ll probably go out and open for Shane & Shane on a couple of shows, stuff like that. And I LOVE women’s conferences and camps and small churches and coffee shops. In the future, if there are opportunities like that, I know I’d love to, but we’ll just have to feel it out when we’re there!

 

13 Responses to “Part 1: Twitter Answers, minus the 140-characters part.”

  1. Thanks for answering my question, although it makes me sad you didn’t actually get to stop through Knox. Next time (whenever that is!) you definitely need to try Tomato Head (A Knox staple) and Cafe 4 (both on Market Square). Tell Shane to look into booking a show @ The Square Room so you can eat some fantastic Knox cuisine! 🙂

  2. Adam (atomcreative) Says:

    Bethany,

    “Continuum” is still in my opinion John Mayer’s best record to date. I’ll have to check out Yael Naim.

  3. Alyson Says:

    I’ve listened to your songs from the beginning and they have been such a blessing to me so thank you!

  4. Jade Says:

    Girl, I wish we were real life friends. lol

    PS I love your family.

  5. Dawn Says:

    Bethany,
    Thanks so much for sharing your heart with us today 🙂 It is so wonderful to see God working in women all across the country as we serve him day by day.

    Blessings to you, Shane, & Lucy

  6. JustWondering Says:

    Bethany, would you comment on the recent developments about Jennifer Knapp. The Christian community seems to take extreme positions (Derek Webb and Pat Robertson seem to be polar opposites on this topic).

    What do you think about it? Does it change your views now that it involves such a talented and accomplished artist?

  7. April Says:

    Thanks for all the great answers! I was wondering what your favorite record/ song you’ve written is. Just curious!

    And thanks so much for taking the time to blog. I have already been encouraged and challenge, which is one reason why I love the Shanes too. Their music (and even CD inserts!) have always pushed me to press hard to know the Lord more, and yours has done the same. It was just too perfect that you married Shane B! Thanks again–I’m lifting you up as you prepare to be a mom!

  8. Tuuli Says:

    Thanks for doing this, it was a great read first thing in the morning.

  9. Gina Says:

    you have such a eloquent way of wording things. you seem so mature and grounded for your age, yet a free spirit. so cool. 🙂 Lucy will be blessed to be part of this family!

  10. I am seconding miss Jade up there in wishing we were real life friends 🙂 but it’s a start that you always remember me hehe 🙂 love from Ohio! -Sarah Joy

  11. Tom Rorem Says:

    If you get the chance you should check out the band called Mumford and Sons.

    Also, I was wondering if you and Shane have ever done house shows. There are a lot of artist in the secular world now that are doing intimate house shows and wondered if that would be something that you and shane would be into.

    Anyway, keep on listening to good music

    T

  12. Melisa Says:

    Dear Beth,

    Thank you for sharing your life 🙂
    You have such a beautiful heart.

    I’ve always loved your music, and the Shanes’ too! I smiled really big when I found out you and Shane B were married. 🙂

    Love from Sydney Australia!

    p.s. If you like John Mayer, you should check this out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2TlZ1JUXBVs

  13. Suzanne Says:

    Gurl…well you let me know when you’re ready to come lead a Girls Retreat and I’ll have you in a heart beat! I have loved your voice since I first heard you on tour with S&S…when you were 16! and I was in college at UGA! Seriously… we’d love to host you when you get ansy for a gig! 🙂


Leave a Reply

