Bethany Dillon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Rare Moments April 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bethanydillon @ 4:28 pm

I don’t read My Utmost For His Highest by Oswald Chambers daily…. I probably should. My mom always had it around growing up. You’ve heard of it, right? Classic devotional book. Oswald Chambers = the man. So, so good. I picked it up Saturday morning and read ahead to April 25th’s reading and have been stuck on it ever since. Thought I’d share with you:

Instant In Season (by Oswald Chambers)

“Be instant in season, out of season.”

2 Timothy 4:2

Many of us suffer from the morbid tendency to be instant “out of season.” The season does not refer to time, but to us– “Be instant in season, out of season,” whether we feel like it or not. If we do only what we feel inclined to do, some of us would do nothing forever and ever. There are unemployables in the spiritual domain, spiritually decrepit people, who refuse to do anything unless they are supernaturally inspired. The proof that we are rightly related to God is that we do our best whether we feel inspired or not.

One of the great snares of the Christian worker is to make a fetish of his rare moments. When the Spirit of God gives you a time of inspiration and insight, you say– “Now I will always be like this for God.” No, you will not, God will take care you are not. Those times are a gift of God entirely. You cannot give them to yourself when you choose. If you say you will only be at your best, you become an intolerable drag on God; you will never do anything unless God keeps you consciously inspired. If you make a god of your best moments, you will find that God will fade out of your life and never come back until you do the duty that lies nearest, and have learned not to make a fetish of your rare moments.

 

11 Responses to “The Rare Moments”

  1. We read that book every evening at out house. πŸ™‚ At times the writing can be a bit difficult though. I really REALLY recommend the devotinal book “Experiencing God day by day”

    LINK > http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=experiencing+god+day+by+day&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=14591076006859418575&ei=sWTYS9mUK8H7lweFlNz7Aw&sa=X&oi=product_catalog_result&ct=result&resnum=3&ved=0CC8Q8wIwAg#ps-sellers

    It’s amazing!! Simple but deep.

  2. Razmataz Says:

    First of all, I love His Utmost for His Highest. I try to read it online everyday as soon as I get to work. Oswald Chambers = truly inspired. He always brings a word from the Lord and it is usually something that nails me right between the eyes.
    Secondly, you asked in your latest tweet if we had any questions for you. I am not as of yet, a twitter convert so I am going to ask my question via blog. I am a hopeless romantic and even more a God romantic. I love hearing how the Lord works to intersect the lives of two people. I’m sure you’ve told this story many times before, but could you write a blog story about how you and Shane met, fell in love, and got married?

  3. KΓ©trin Monteiro Says:

    Hi Bethany !
    This is a truth ..
    That the Lord will grow on us every day !
    Thanks for the word ..
    Come to Brazil ! we love you !
    Kisses πŸ™‚

  4. Kristina Says:

    Wow..this is SO wonderful! Totally spoke to me. Thank you so much for sharing! You are a wonderful woman of God; thank you for using the gifts He has given you for His Glory πŸ™‚ Keep posting!! πŸ˜€

  5. Katie Says:

    I have always loved My Utmost for His Highest, but have never owned it myself. Definitely a classic to have in my library. Thanks for sharing!

  6. I read Utmost every morning, and every morning it’s like God is sitting in my bedroom speaking directly to me. It’s like water for the soul:) The perfect way to start your day.

  7. Amy Warr Says:

    it’s on the web at http://www.utmost.org
    I have it set as my homepage.
    Makes me read it more often

  8. Sara Says:

    Thank you for sharing. That’s very convicting and encouraging. πŸ™‚

  9. ASH Says:

    SOOO good. I love this quote from Reckless Faith by Beth Guckenberger:
    “I’m learning to let my back get pushed against a wall–because that is when I cry out for my Rescuer. Most days when I see the wall coming, I angle myself so I don’t get anywhere near it. I decide not to say something that I should or not to take a risk that I’ve been dying to take. I realize now, more than three decades into my life, that the only new things I try tend to be those I’m already good at or capable of. I’m slowly learning to get in over my head, so God can save the day–or at least pick up the pieces. I want to take risks so that I can’t bail myself out, so that I am even more grateful when God shows up…He is consistent but hardly predictable.”
    I am learning that when I live in reckless faith…taking risks and doing things I know I cannot do on my own, God takes care of getting rid of the little gods in my life…because I could never make stepping out of the boat a bragging right if Jesus carried me–I can only brag on Him!

    P.S. I’m in nursing school and spent the day on the OB floor of the local hospital…taking care of all the little babies made me think of you and Lucy = ] Rejoicing with you over new life!

  10. Mercy Says:

    Hi Beth,

    Ive never really heard about you (i’m being honest ) but ive heard your songs and was absolutely in love with your song “beautiful” but didn’t realise you were the singer/songwriter behind it but when I found out its made me love u more!! – I love that you re a young girl honouring God- thats so encouraging especially when clubbing and partners and just busyness in general seems to take over what should be central and real to our lives as young ppl and thats lovin Jesus with every bit of us. I can’t believe how much I can relate to you and felt a bit of a lone ranger in my christian walk ( i.e am I the only freak out here who is into this christian stuff at 22? but im going forward beacuse Jesus is so precious and awesome and satisfying more than anyone and anything..) and so what got me to even respond to this is that I think I hold on to these special times with the Lord, these rareities that as you said are our gifts but I try to hold onto them because I can’t see that god is Bigger than what He gives I’m blinded by what I see in front of me and forget the GIVER (how wrong is that!!) I’m learning to let go and empty myself to God so that He can fill me up with new and fresh lessons evryday even if that means just sticking by Him when things feel rather usual and mundane. Jesus is awesome, worth it and I love HIM!! and I love you for loving HIM – thanks πŸ™‚

  11. Mercy Says:

    Three weeks off… praying that I will be instant out of season …true devotion to the Lord …spending time with Him when I may not ‘feel’ like it and choosing Him when I have the choice to do everything else… Time spent wisely?, I’m thinking so πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

