Bethany Dillon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ch-ch-ch-changes May 18, 2010

Filed under: Life — bethanydillon @ 7:58 pm


to


Shane and I went on a mall date a couple weeks ago (which sounds super cheesy as I type that, but it’s a pretty darn awesome mall in North Dallas. Anthropologie + Williams Sonoma + Origins + Lush + awesome food … fun times are sure to be had) and we stopped by Teavana. You ever been to one? They are the beautiful, cool tea stores that have free samples outside of all kinds of yummy teas. Yes, free. Samples. I’m not sure if it’s just the way I grew up, but when I think, read, or say those words, I am no longer responsible for my actions (i.e. going back for more, taking an inappropriate amount as a “sample”… you get the picture).

Well, we both got drawn in by the amazing salesman there that day. Large, shiny canisters of exotic types and flavors of tea were lowered down from a tall shelf and opened like presents on Christmas morning… then, he would take the top of the canister and start wafting the fragrance of that tea towards us as he told us the health benefits of that particular one. I’m not sure if I really was paying attention to what he was saying, but whenever he would stop, I felt sure that that particular tea had the power to change my life, make labor not hurt, give me energy to do ten loads of laundry a day, and finally kick stress and anxiety to the curb.

We left with three types of tea that day. Are we tea drinkers? Not really. I mean, yes, I buy chamomile and peppermint tea bags for sick days, but as this man informed me, I’m not a real tea drinker if I use a tea BAG. (I think he was about to faint when I told him, poor guy.) But, I do like tea, and so does Shane… and we’ve been trying to bring our caffeine intake down a notch, so there we went, leaving the Teavana store with a fruity, yummy tea for iced tea this summer, a white flavored tea that tastes like chai, and a strong mate (mah-tay) that has just as much caffeine as coffee, but with less jitters, and a more “natural” feeling of energy.

I’m pretty sure I could get excommunicated from my family for saying this, but I really like it. A lot.

I even thought about making a cup of coffee a couple of mornings ago for old times’ sake, but really, I just wanted some chai. Or a good black tea. Or rooibos. I even feel healthier typing out the names of those.

That’s all I’ve got for today.

 

17 Responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes”

  1. Jade Says:

    i love malls like that. And mall dates are so fun. Especially if you have a husband who likes to meander with you all day long, just to be with you.

    And as for your tea choices…awesome! I am such a fabulous fan of tea. I prefer it to coffee any day. I have my special tea and saucer for special times and teas. And where do you think afternoon tea came from? It’s the afternoon sip to keep you going through the day. 🙂

    So glad you found Teavana so magical.

    Have you ever been to an Oil & Vinegar shop? It’s similar to Teavana but with….Oil & Vinegar! 🙂 It is also a magical place.

  2. bonniehorton Says:

    That is my favorite place! Try the Samurai Chai, it’s my favorite and it’s absolutely amazing over ice!

  3. mark sisco Says:

    Listen my friend, I tell you the truth, BLACKBERRY SAGE HOT TEA…is where its at. The hint of sage really lingers for a neat after taste. But listen ….it changes you dreams…no really ….I mean youll dream you riding gaint eagles and stuff..really works..I tell you the truth…mark

  4. That’s a good change. I’ve never been a big fan of coffee, but I occasionally enjoy a nice cup of tea.

  5. Mindy Says:

    Haha…I just went there for the first time yesterday. I went to pick up a gift for Britt to give to her boyfriend for his birthday. I walked out of there with a Chai blend that was amazing. I am actually drinking a cup now as I am writing. 🙂

  6. Toni J Says:

    If you are looking for more energy, (not to diss on your tea, AT ALL, just throwing out something if you are ever in the mood for a change) I read somewhere that half of a grapefruit every morning with a protein is supposed to be equivalent to the caffeine you get from a cup of coffee, but lasts longer, and is less jittery as well. Maybe even incorporating it WITH your tea would help during these last few weeks! I always feel healthier reading your food blogs! You always have the coolest things to talk about.

  7. Jade Says:

    man, i wish i liked grapefruit. It tastes like what I imagine feet would taste like.

    I can drink sweetened grapefruit juice…but really, what’s the point. haha

  8. Jill Says:

    Somebody needs to inform me on tea without a tea bag. I have this little metal thing that looks like a tea cup with a bunch of holes in it but it has a metal chain attached and you use it to make your tea. What in the world do I do with it and how/where do you buy tea that is not in tea bag form? I love tea so I would love to know.

  9. alicia Says:

    fruit bomba and youthberry are my two favorites. I LOVE tea and teavana has a huge selection of decaf.

    I went to a tea tasting at a little tea shop about 2 years ago and appauled everyone in the room when I told them I used tea bags from the grocery store, or target (I thought target was high end).

    Speaking of target, this mug came from there this weekend and it makes my tea (hot or iced) making 100 times easier.

  10. Kari Says:

    Teavana! Wow the first time I went there was in Feb at the Galleria mall in Dallas (is that the one you are talking about??!) (I was visiting family) and my aunt made us try their samples. I am not a hot tea drinker (but of course as Native Texas we love our sweet iced tea and morning coffee)… but let me tell you I am in LOVE with whatever they had as samples… both of them!

    Speaking of which..

    I need to ask my aunt which ones they were because I think I’m gonna order them!!

    🙂

    So that all being said, this post made me smile… 😀

  11. Morgan Says:

    I had to go all the way to Argentina to discover Mate…amazing stuff right there.

  12. H Fields Says:

    Darjeeling is my personal [black tea] favorite…
    expensive but worth it! Filtered water is a must for uninhibited taste [for coffee too]. http://www.darjeelingtea.com/home.asp
    The polyphenols in tea are an added benefit!

  13. sarah Says:

    i LOVE teavana.. i can never go in there because i can’t afford it. all of my money would be in teapots and pretty cups and the amazing tea they sell. but it is lovely to drink their free samples 🙂 enjoy!!

  14. Katie Says:

    Sounds like a store after my own heart! I’m on the hunt for one near me now… 😀

  15. Jamie Forbes Says:

    I just found your blog, since I was on a Christian music kick today and looked up your name. I see that there have been big changes in your life, and I’m so happy that things are so amazing for you. I interned at EMI CMG when you first were signed, where I worked on developing your street team, and became a fan myself. The bits on your blog about scripture and faith are engaging me, and it’s been a long time. God bless.

  16. Ally Says:

    too funny – my friend and i just discovered Teavana here in BR,LA .. i also just started reading your blog 😀 …anyways as i was reading i too am drinkin the “morning mate” tea from there 🙂 …. Mmm so yummy!

  17. daniel Says:

    That’s so wonderful that you found Teavana! I’m an assistant manager at one of the locations in Nashville, and it’s an incredible place. Welcome to the world of tea.

    My friend Briana posted this blog entry on my facebook page (she’s a huge fan), so I had to check it out. Love your music, and again, happy to welcome you to the world of tea!!!


Leave a Reply

